Company Information

Evergreen Safety & Reliability Technologies (ESRT) was incorporated in August 2000 under the laws of the state of Colorado as a privately owned Limited Liability Corporation. The firm is owned and operated by Dr. John H. Bickel and is located in the town of Evergreen, Colorado. ESRT provides expertise to government and industrial clients in the US, Europe, and Asia in safety and reliability assessment of nuclear power plant systems and components. ESRT also provides litigation support and expert testimony in civil litigation proceedings. ESRT is owned and operated by Dr. John H. Bickel.

IEEE Standards

Follow us on LinkedIn:

  Dr. John H. Bickel, Owner of ESRT, attending a meeting of the OECD Nuclear Energy Agency in Paris, where he chairs the special working group on Defense in Depth of Electrical Systems (DIDELSYS)  

Recent Technical Projects:

  • Defense in Depth of Electrical Systems and Grid Interaction
  • Upgrade of the Prairie Island 1,2 and Monticello PRA models to conformance with Regulatory Guide 1.200
  • Development of an IAEA Guidance Standard Format and Content for Nuclear Power Plant Safety Analysis Reports
  • Assistance to Utility Clients in NRC 0609 Significance Determination Process
  • Accident Sequence Precursor Assessments for NRC
For further details on these Projects: Click Here

Specific Areas of Expertise:

  • Reliability Assessment of NPP Mechanical, Electrical, and I&C Systems
  • Modeling and Simulation of Station AC Blackout and Restoration
  • Digital Instrumentation and Control System Reliability Assessment
  • Application of Weibull Failure Rate Models, Component Aging Assessment
  • Accident Analysis of PWRs, BWRs based upon the  EPRI MAAP Code
  • Evaluation of Hydrogen Generation and Control
  • Litigation Support and Expert Witness Testimony

Some Recent Customers:

  • United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission (US NRC)
  • International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)
  • Mitsubishi Nuclear Energy Systems (MNES)
  • Swedish State Power Board - Vattenfall Energisystem AB
  • Statens Kärnkraftinspektion (SKi) - Strålsäkerhetsmyndigheten
  • Swedish Radiation Safety Authority (SSM)
  • Worley-Parsons (Bulgaria)
  • Institut de Radioprotection et de Sûreté Nucléaire (IRSN)

Last revised: June 1, 2014